I am the quiet kid in the class of the internets

I just had a realization.  Back when I was in school, I was the smart-ass know-it-all, obnoxious type who never had any problems raising my hand and speaking up.  I would get sick of all the silent people in the room who were just trying to avoid calling attention to themselves.  Sometimes, it seemed that everyone in the room but me had the “someone else will speak up about it” mentality.

Online, though, I tend to clam up.  I have told very few people of this blog’s existence, I do not tweet much of my own thoughts, and I keep my FB access fairly tight, close-knit, and censored when I see nastiness.  I wonder if that’s borne from a mild sense of fear of being attacked in this environment – which is so prevalent.  I bet it’s because I do not consider the internet to be any sort of safe space, whatsoever.  Because encountering respect and reasoned discourse in this medium is more rare than outright vitriol and base-level entrenchment into personal biases.

Just some thoughts.

Leave a Reply

