Social Swings

This month is going to be a bit crazy for me, not the least of which because of the social yo-yo-ing that I’m going to experience.  In working from home, I have become accustomed to silence and solitude.  It takes up over half of my waking hours every given week.  So, whenever I have to go on business trips, or I travel to see family anymore, I quickly come to experience a little bit of social anxiety in that the constant noises of civilization and the social interactions overwhelm me a little bit.

It is such a weird sensation to me whenever it happens because this is the first time in my life I’ve really experienced anything like it, and logically, I know what is going on, but I still experience an emotional response to it that I cannot control.  The only word I can come up with to describe it is being over-stimulated and overwhelmed.

Then, I come back to my normal routine, and everything is *too* quiet and a bit lonely and underwhelming.  I feel like a rubber band that gets stretched really thin and then rebounds and folds a little before resuming a normal shape.

I have multiple shifts of this sort coming up this month.  I just got back from the first one.  I’m hoping I can handle the many adjustments to come with grace.  I look forward to the day when social interactions, vacations, and business trips are not so taxing to my limbic system.

Leave a Reply

