My Working Mother Confessions

I love being a working mother.

Most of the time, I do not miss my kids when I am at work.  I savor the adult/”me” time that comes with having a career.*  I have zero guilt about feeling this way.  As much as I love my kids, they are not the be-all and end-all of who I am.

Even though a good portion of my paycheck goes towards child care, I like bringing income into my family.  I had my job and was able to become very well established in my career field prior to having children.  I’m eternally grateful that I never had to give up all the time and effort I put into getting where I am in my working life by switching to being nothing but a caregiver.  I like making my own money and I like the security of being a dual-income family.

I would hate my life if I were a stay-at-home mom.  I’ve tried it in a few, 2-3 month long increments (moving, maternity leave), and every time I’ve done it, I’ve been miserable.  It also negatively affected my marriage.  I am NOT a stay-at-home mom.

Consequently, my children will attend some sort of public and/or private schooling when they get to that age.  Homeschooling is not for me.  I also acknowledge that I pay taxes for that sort of stuff.  I might as well get my money’s worth.

I like having my kids in daycare.  They may get a little more sick in the first few years, but I believe that it will help their immune systems for the future.  I also love the fact that they are able to socialize and learn new things they would never be able to fully experience if they were at home all day, every day.  I like that they have peers starting at a young age and can learn about friendships from baby-hood.  I love that pre-school isn’t a huge shift in routine for them – it’s just going to the same “school” that they’ve been going to for as long as they can remember.  I love the fact that I do not have to be their only source of creative prompting – they have many teachers’ crafty ideas and games to experience every day.

In short, working motherhood works very well for me.  I wouldn’t trade it for the world, I will fight tooth and nail to keep my career alive, and I hope to be a working mother until I retire.

*Today is an exception.  I am actually missing my kids this afternoon, but I’m glad it’s Friday and that I’m coming up on a weekend of being smothered in love, whining, fights, and playtime.

Leave a Reply

